Some people think young people should be required to have full-time education until they are at least 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that young people need to obtain a full- time education until the age of 18. I agree because first it prepares them for employment, and, second, reduces the risk of harmful behaviours. Body · 1 Young people studying until they turn 18 ensures employment for them in the future. Most career’s today require high critical thinking skills and communication skills, therefore just studying numeracy and literacy is not enough. By continuing their studies through the teenage years students have the chance to gain high skills from their education and these skills make them more capable when looking for employment. For example, most jobs require working in a team collaboratively and creating presentations for the company. A young person staying in school until 18 will automatically learn these, as they will have to work with their classmates together to create different presentations in class and present in front of everyone. Body · 2 Engaging in full time education reduces the risk of teenagers engaging in harmful behaviours. When young people leave school at an early age, they may get bored at home and engage in behaviours such as thefting thefts. This is why staying engaged in full time education is important as school provides not only academic instruction but teaches them social structure such as following rules and learning from mentors. For instance, students engaged in social activities such as sports, often have less unstructured free time and are mainly focused on their goals. This keeps them away from negative influences and helps them stay focused on school.

In conclusion, staying in full time education until young people turn 18 is an important aspect in their life. Staying engaged in education helps them build skills to secure their employment and also reduces the risk of harmful behaviours.