Prison sentences are often too light, and crime rates are growing in many major cities. Capital punishment is necessary and good Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, crime has become one of the prominent issues to deal with. This has prompted a debate where, some argue that increase in crime rate is due to light punishments and death sentences is the only solution for its reduction. I believe that it may be beneficial upto some extend but not always. To begin with, critics argue that stricter laws and punishment like death sentence will eventually lead to less crime rate. For example, if punishment is death sentence, a criminal will think twice before comming a crime. Moreover, victims and their families will have a sense of relief since the justice is served to them. In contrast, even countries with stricter rules, it has been seen that there is only reduction in violent crime. Therefore, the solution is half tackeled. On the other hand, it cannot be denied that it doesn't solves deeper social issues that lead to crime. Such as poverty, lack of education and unemployment, in such cases crime is only committed either due to desperation or survival. For instance, in the developing countries, corruption and street crimes are still prevalent despite the higher punishments. Hence, it shows prevention is not the only solution to tackle it. I believe that a better approach should be followed where government should focus on investing in education, employment opportunities and rehabilitation. Also, by raising awareness and teaching them the value of freedom, personal reponsibility and social cooperation we can further diminsh this issue. To further ellaborate, it has been seen in Kerala that since the percentage of educated people are more there, the crime rate is also less as compared to other states. In conclusion, we can deal the problem from the root cause, where strict offenders should definitely be punished without any exemption but, steps taken by government such as providing basic learnings, better employment opportunities and rehabilitation will help suffice the problem completely. A balanced approach that combines appropraite punishment with social reform will lead to more safer and well just society.