Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, there is concern about crime, and some people think that it is better for prisoners to serve longer prison sentences to reduce crime, while others believe there are alternative ways to tackle this issue. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion later. Starting with the first view, there are two main reasons why people think this way. First, prison makes prisoners appreciate the value of freedom. For example, if the sentence time is too short, then people will become careless about crime. Penalties should be strong and frightening. Secondly, prison keeps criminals away from the streets to keep cities safe, until we are sure they have become good citizens. For instance, prisons offer courses to educate offenders on how to re-enter society. Once they learn and are ready, the prison can release them. On the other hand, some people argue that there are better ways to punish criminals and make them feel sorry for their actions, without keeping them in prison for a long time. The reasons for this claim are many, but let me mention two. Primarily, spending more time in prison is not beneficial; it is a waste of life, and some guilty individuals, who have committed a first crime, might have done so by mistake or in a vulnerable moment. For example, a poor person who commits theft to meet basic needs deserves another chance. The potential results of giving such people the opportunity to correct their mistakes will reflect positively on communities. The other reason is that isolating them with hardened offenders will affect them negatively. Instead of helping them, we would let criminals corrupt their minds. From my perspective, although prison can be the ideal solution in some cases, there are several cases that do not require such treatment. Solving this issue with other alternatives is a better approach. So, I strongly support the latter view. In conclusion, it seems to me that applying the same approach to all criminals is wrong. The public has concerns, and opinions are divided. Despite some people thinking it is better to keep offenders away for a longer time, they have valid reasons. However, those who advocate for alternatives have a strong argument.