Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outwiegh the disadvantages?

It is suggested by some specialists that schools should focus on teaching foreign language to the students at primary classes instead of waiting till secondary school. This approach has both pros and cons which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs but according to me, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. To commence with, there are multifaceted advantages for children who learn languages such as English or French at their early years of school. Firstly, familarity to other languages in primary school improves the fluency of students in speaking other language. For instance, children who speak English from their pre- school years until their young age will be able to speak more fluently and clearly in that language because they are exposed to the language since their early years. Secondly, primary school students are more acceptable to changes and will learn more efficiently. In other words, in early years of age, children are on the most crucial stage of development and whatever they learn at this phase shapes their upcoming years. For instance, children will easily learn phrases, vocabulary and sentence formation at their early age in comparison to secondary school because their minds have been prepared to speak in second language since their childhood. Therefore, it is important for schools to teach students the foreign language before secondary classes. On the other hand, despite of the advantages, there are disadvantages of implementing foreign courses in the school curriculum in the intial years of school. This phenomenon leads to distancing a student from their native language. To elaborate, if children will start learning the other languages from the beginning of their schooling, they will not be able to communicate in their national or cultural language which consequently lead to deatachment from the culture and traditions which shapes the values of a human being. To conclude, though the children would experience a distance from their native language, learning foreign speaking from the initial years of school helps in increasing fluency and acceptance to change. Thus, the pros of this approach are more than the cons.