Some people argue that governments should focus on domestic matters, while others believe that addressing global issues is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is recently a growing debate on whether governments should focus on local matters or global problems. While some argue that governments should pay more attention to domestic matters, others believe that it is more important to address global issues. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I believe that a balanced approach is the most effective. Supporters of the view that local matters should be prioritized often point to several key reasons. One major reason is that citizens are paying for taxes on a regular basis. That is to say that they expect to see tangible effects on their daily life issues such as healthcare, safety and infrastructure. For example, during floods and emergency crises, people often expect that the government to act quickly and firmly. Furthermore, this approach can lead to greater public trust and social stability. Therefore, many believe that focusing on domestic concerns is a more effective use of resources. On the other hand, proponents of addressing global issues believe that it has a wider impact. One major argument is that global issues like climate change, pandemics and terrorism cross borders, and need joint actions. To illustrate, the nations are increasingly interconnected and ignoring global issues will lead to negative consequences on all the countries. A good example of that is the COVID-19 pandemic and how global cooperation helped to eradicate its negative outcomes on all nations. In my opinion, both local and global issues are significant and interconnected. Governments should prioritize urgent domestic needs but play an active role in solving global problems especially those that impact their own countries. In conclusion, both local needs and global problems offer valid arguments as declared in the aforementioned points. However, I personally believe that a balanced approach is crucial as it considers both immediate needs and long-term effects.