Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population?

It is argued that riding is a environment-friendly and well-being method of travelling, however, they are still not welcomed in some countries. This phenonmenon may casued by various factors which are going to de discussed in this essay as well as the means for encouraging the usage of bikes in large number of population situations. Bikes are not popular in countries may due to the safety issue. To be specific, some roads in metropolian, such as Shanghai, are crowded with vichles and there are no particular riding lanes for the riders. As a result, the riders will occupy the cars' lanes which making it danerous to notice the riders especially at the road crosses. Besides, the bikes parking problem also should be highlighted. Even though sharing bikes could be one of the most convinent way for users to commute, they lack of management and dominated the pavements which seriously cause the pavements too narrow to walk and make the city looks chaotic. Moreover, the bicycles are easily stolen since there are no parkings for them on the street. Notwithstanding the above, riding is still not only can benefits for physics but also a costless way for commuting or travelling. It should be encouraged through various possible approaches. First of all, the companies esapecially the map apps and bike sharing companies can do the promoting such as complimentary coupons or virtual stamps for rewarding when they detect the passengers are riding bikes for travelling. This can raise people's attractions on riding bicycles. Besides, the authority should improve the city constructions for a biking-frindly the road and divide a bike lanes; some parkings can be also included in the shopping malls and communities. In conclusion, even though the riding bicycles is a muti-advantages transport method, they are not as popular as it should be since the safety issues,etc. Nevertheless, they can be promoted with the assistants of bike-sharing companies, maps companies and the government by forming a user-friendly atmosphere among cities.