Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that more money should be spent on railways than roads by governments. I vehemently agree due to railway's safety and its larger capability for transportation. One of the main reasons why it is better to invest more in railway system is their high safety record. Nowadays, the majority of trains use special electronic devices in order to be controlled in dangerous situations and cover human's possible errors. For example, although there are fast trains all over the world, their speed is adjusted automatically according to various factors including the area that they passing through. However, these advantages are not available in cars. Each year, due to drivers' errors thousands of people die in car accidents, something that rarely happens in railway transportation. Another reason is railways incredible potential for transportation. Most of the trains can move both passengers and cargo at the same time in different wagons, something that makes them a unique and cost-effective way of transportation. Moreover, with more railways available, not only people can benefit from a cheap and easy travel, but also the goods will be transported more frequent and in higher quantities, which may lead to lower prices and their higher availability. These days, trains are made in multi-store wagons, which makes them even more benefitial for transportation. In conclusion, many suggest that governments should invest more money on railway system than roads. This is a good idea due to railways high safety record as well as their enormous potential for transportation.