Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, with the advancement of technology, individuals show less attraction to bicycles than other transportation modes, such as cars, buses, and trains. This essay will first examine the primary two causes of this case, then propose two practical solutions to mitigate this case, providing relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. The main reason for this situation is that people want to save their time, without wasting more time for travelling. With today's busy work life, they strive to use effective modes. For instance, a recent study conducted by the University of Peradeniya (2024) revealed that more than a 55% drop had been observed in the use of bicycles, compared to the 2020 level. Moreover, there are several other reasons, one of the major causes is that people believe that their social status would be damaged due to the use of bicycles. Consequently, they try to embrace high-luxury vehicles with popular brands, including TESLA, AUDI, and Benz. However, this is not a positive development mainly impacting for environmental and social aspects. Every person as well as relevant authorities should encourage humans to use bicycles more. There are numerous ways. One viable way is organizing social programmes to provide the importance of bicycles, highlighting physical well-being and environmental problems, namely carbon emissions and global warming. Additionally, another possible way is introducing new taxes or fines for other modes, considering the impacts. For example, in 2023, the UK introduced a new tax system for greenhouse gas emissions vehicles, and after that people have been motivated to use bicycles more. In conclusion, the primary two reasons for this special situation are that individuals try to save time with other transportation methods and consider their social reputation, which results in less attention on bicycles. However, it can be addressed by implementing practical solutions: conducting awareness events and proposing new taxes and fines.