Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times. They don’t want their children to read entertainment books because they think it is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Why?

Some guardians believe that their children should spend most of their time on accessing educational material and should not waste time on reading books that entertain them. I completely diasgree with this statement as reading academic content all the time may lead to boredom and increase stress level for children. The upcoming paragraphs will illustrate the supporting points to my opinion in detail. Firstly, encouraging children to spend most of their hours in a day in educative readings can result in reduced interest in education. Students who are forced to study everytime may find it difficult to understand and concentrate on the theoretical concepts as spending too much time on serious learning can cause children feel lathergic. For instance, a survey conducted in New Age School in India provided that students lacked concentration when they were supposed to sit and read theories for hours. Therefore, pushing children to study for extended hours is not considered productive as it can lead to negative outcomes such as unwillingness to study. Additionally, children who are expected to indulge in reading informative books without any recreation may experience mental health issues such as stress. In other words, acquiring knowledge requires energy and time, but the children who are forced to read educative books only feel pressurized by their parents which may cause anxiety and stress for them. Consequently, they deatach themselves from their friends and do not participate in recreational activities which further leads to feeling of isolation. Thus, it is essential for children to go through entertainment books as well, as these books provides insight into different aspects that charms a children and make them feel energetic. To conclude, though good academic scores are of significance but I believe that parents should provide leniency to their children to balance education and entertainment as both are important for good results and mental health of a children.