Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reducing public transport fares while developing pubic transport systems is thought to significantly reduce carbon emissions. This essay will clearly outline the benefits of implementing government investments and reducing ticket sales. Due to the lack of investment in public transport, people often prefer to use thier own private vehicles, which has led to the surging rise in carbon emissions. Subsequently, the frequent use of petrol fueled vehicles has resulted in large quantities of carbon dioxide emitted causing the accelaration of global warming. Moreover, public funding can be used towards developing public transport vehicles to emit less noise, greenhouse gases and rely on alternative fuel sources such as electricity, which will significantly reduce pollution. For instance, prices for subway fares in the UK have recently skyrocketed. Consequently, people are deterred from using public transport and opt to use private vehicles which people believe to be cheaper and more convenient. As a consequence, more cars on the road, more pollution. Furthermore, lowering the ticket prices for public transport encourages travellers to use public transport. If more people use bus and rail services, less cars will be seen on the road, thereby decreasing traffic congestion, noise pollution and air pollution. More importantly, cheap fares fascilitates more people accessing transport services, therefore reducing the strain on the use of fossil fuels. For example, the government in Luxembourg eliminated all public transport fares, ultimately providing free access to its citizens. This initiative encourages the use of mass transit which contributes to a notable reduction in vehicle emissions. In summary, upgrading public transport systems will have great benefits. Not only will it improve atmospheric conditions, travelling will be cheaper and more efficient for the public to use. Although it may require a huge investment, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.