Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

Nowadays some people think that the one responsible for taking care of the elderly is the government. And the other half believes that their own family members should take responsibility. Personally, I totally think the close members of the family should be responsible for the reasons mentioned in this essay. Firstly, having someone that you have known all your life taking care of you because they care about your own health, is better than a nurse who does it for the salary. For example, when I was sick myself It was comforting to have my sister more than the nurse beside me. Secondly, most of the elderly want to spend their last moment next to a loved one. We do not know when is the last moment of course, but they want to make sure that we are next to them. Like my father, before passing away he used to call us to sit next to him every day, and that was because we wanted to be next to him when it happened. On the other hand, having the government to look after them as an option could be very useful. Such as, the elderly with no close family members or even brothers and sisters, so relying on the other option when needed is great. And to have this option so they do not want to annoy or force the family member to take care of them is great for busy family members. For instance family members with a business. In conclusion, having a loved one taking care of them is great for both parties. however, having an open option to have the government support them when needed without having to bother their close ones is a very respectful option to have. therefore the government should offer this support optionly so it comes really to what they prefer.