In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the rapid advancement of technology, e- books are more convenient and accessible for readers, thereby will replace printed newspaper and real books in the future. From my perspective, I fully endorse with this statement. To begin with, one of the main reasons why I agree is that online books improve the accessibility and mobility. This means people do not need to go to different bookstores to look for a specific book, also, online version may be free to download and read, which may attract more people to read books and enhance the general cultural level of society. Moreover, keeping plenty of books in a portable computer to carry could help people stay organized and bring convenience. A case in point is that students could only bring a laptop which contains academic materials to school instead of a heavy stack of textbooks. On the other hand, without the replacement of online books, some serious environmental problems may occur. This is because real books and printed newspapers are made by wood paper which are cut from trees. Therefore, excessive production of books or newspapers would cause deforestation, which will not only accelerate climate change, but also exacerbate environmental degradation. By contrast, e- books and online newspaper are more environmental friendly and could raise the awareness of ecological conservation for the public. As a result, digital books will be more prevalent and popular in the future since consumers have rational behaviors. In conclusion, I firmly advocate that paperless books will derive significant benefits in terms of accessibility, mobility and environmental sustainability. I believe that the widespread use of e- books will contribute to a more prosperous future with cleaner air.