Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that most of the manufactured food and drink products are with excessive sugar, which could lead to serious health issues, thereby higher price should be set in order to discourage consumption. From my perspective, I fully endorse with this approach. To begin with, one of the main reasons why I agree is that excessive sugar injection will cause severe health problems such as diabetes or obesity so high barriers for sugary product consumption could avoid deterioration of individual’s healthcare. This is because sugary food is seem as a demerit good, which they only notice the present satisfaction but ignore the long-term negative consequences. If the price set by suppliers have increased, less people are willing to purchase them and may switch to other healthier substitute foods. As a result, expensive sugary product may help reduce the amount of purchase and could prevent health issues. However, if people are not aware of the drawbacks of consuming sugary beverages and foods, this may lead to a national budget deficit or financial pressure on governance in terms of welfare payment and healthcare subsidies. Since severe illness is contribute to the overconsumption of sugary product, firms will experience increasing absences of employee. Therefore, government may need to spend more on healthcare sector of society. Moreover, a high unemployment rate caused by sickness results in increased government spending on social welfare payments, which reduces opportunities to invest in other profitable projects. To avoid this, the most effective way will be imposing high prices for sugar-high products. In conclusion, I firmly advocate that setting high price for high-sugar products is necessary and beneficial for safeguarding both social and personal health. I believe that with such implementation of pricing will efficiently reduce the consumption and eventually help achieve a healthy and prosperous society.