Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, schools and similar educational institutions are becoming much more prevalent than they have ever been. This has raised debate over the necessity of existence of schools, as children can obtain the same amount of lesson by easily going through the internet. Although, I think there are obvious benefits in online learning, I strongly believe the advantages of face-to-face teaching totally outweighs that in self-study online learning. On the one hand, children spend lots of time on the way to schools. Whether it is a personal car or they go with public transportation, it is still costly considering that they have to repeat this for an entire year. In fact, online learning can reduce the educational expenses in large number. Secondly, some children, especially introverts, find self-study learning much more effective. They find it more convenient when they have to struggle and go through information by themselves than when they have to face their instructor. For instance, a study reported by the New York Times showed that shifting to self-study learning can improve some student’s scores up to 50%. On the other hand, it seems to me education is not all about thriving in certain studies. In other words, there are much more for children to attain than math or sciences. A good pedagogical programs teaches students about social responsibilities as much as sciences. Furthermore, most of the skills children learn in schools that will help them thrive in society in the future is acquired through communication with others or learning from mistakes. For example, students can learn so many skills such as teamwork, time management and the ability to control themselves by doing a school project. In conclusion, learning through internet can help students learn some of their lessons more effectively, but skills they learn by attending schools and being among their peers are more valuable and are abundant.