Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that criminals should be punished strictly. While it is a commonly held belief that educational and vocational programs are more effective way to deal with prisoners. There is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion I consider that training programes play a crucial role in changing criminal's negative behaviour into positive. To begin with training programes can help offenders gain new skills that can benefite them in finding work oppourtunities after releas. In other words, learning new skills such as computer programming and business, helps prisoners to get practical experience. Furthermore, educational programes plays crucial role in changing prisoners mindset, this is because gaining new skills makes people feel more satisfayed about themseleves. For example, a study was conducted in United Kingdom showed a significant rise of successful people who ones had a chance to complete their education in prisons. Another point to consider is that traning programes significantly helps in adopting positive behaviour which reduces their tendecy to commit anti-social behaviour. For instance, some prisoners often deal with anger issues, however, individuals who had mental rehabilitation showed a significant positive change in their attitudes. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that prisoners as human being should have a chance and opportunities to start a new chapter.