In the developed world, the average life expentancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In this contemporary era, the availability of numerous treatments and trend of opting healthy lifestyle is decreasing the mortality rates. This phenomenon have several negative implications for the upcoming generations and the community such as less job opportunities for young adults and overpopulation in the nations. Additionally, regulatory bodies can impose some restrictions on the age of retirement in the professions, to enhance the ability of young people to demonstrate their skills. The increased life expectancy of people have resulted in the dominance of experienced and aged workforce in higher positions at a workplace. This trend hinders the opportunities for the emerging professionals to apply for higher paid job roles because employers do not want to lose their permanent and experienced staff. For example, the online data of a company named Tata, located in India, provided that 75 per cent of the higher paid roles consisted of employees who are aged over 60 years. Additionally, nations all over the world are experiencing issues such as less accomodation, due to increasing population. The high proportion of birth rates and longer life span of people have lead to cities being overcrowded resulting in limited housing, high rents and limited resources which do not fulfill the needs of the residents. Furthermore, the government can implement strategies to reduce the impact of aged individuals on the country by emphasising on forming regulations that limits the average age of a person to work in an organisation. Currently, in most of the nations, the retirement age is 70 years, however, the authorities can reduce it to 65. Along with, focus should also be shifted towards the financial needs of these retired people. The government in addition to pensions should provide subsidies and benefits to people to ensure the smooth flow of the general public who are old and retired from their professional positions. In conclusion, the higher life expectancy rate impacts the emerging workforce and the society by limiting professional growth of youngsters and leading to demand of more resources. Thus, the authorities can limit the dominant aspect of old people in higher paid jobs by reducing the age of retirement.