Children can learn effectivel by watching television. Therefore they shol db eencouraged to watch television regularly at home an dat school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Television displays a number of shows and programs which enhance the knowledge of children. It is suggested that parents and teachers should encourage the children to spend maximum time on the screen regularly. I completely disagree with this statement as there are multiple disadvantages of being in contact with television shows, such as addiction to the screen and academic downfalls despite the information that TV shows provide. Firstly, the students who spend most of their time watching cartoons, movies and animations are at a risk of getting addicted to those shows. The content in these programs entertains the viewer and generates curiosity to watch more episodes. Children who get habitual to watching television on a daily basis become stubborn and insist their parents and guardians allowing them to watch the shows. For instance, a recent news report in India demonstrated that a twelve-year-old boy committed suicide because his parents restricted his screen time. Thus, too much leniency in watching television can have negative implications in the development of a child, leading to consequences such as the risk of harm. Additionally, relying on television shows to acquire knowledge impacts the academic success of a student. Children who are more prone to watching movies and other entertainment series avoid reading books and practising the subjects, which consequently leads to poor grades in exams. For example, there are many shows that misguide the interest of children from studies and as a result children lose their interest in studying theoretical content, which leads to lower marks. Therefore, youngsters are at risk of being misguided by television shows and may reduce their efforts to get high scores in academics. To conclude, though there are informative content produced by channels but screen time should be allowed in moderation, as encouraging children to watch shows on screen may cause addiction and reluctance to study.