Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio. How does media affect the society? Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

Many people around the world need help, and some argue that governments should dedicate their efforts to help their citizens and not waste their resources supporting other people in different countries. I completely agree with this view, as focusing in local people ’s needs can positively impact the country’s development as well as reduce the global number of poor people who needs external financial support. One key reason for governments to focus on their people is increasing the countries development. In other words, when they invest the local resources to support their citizens, they can provide better life quality for people. For example, investing in building schools in the local community will enhance the educational level for individuals as well as provide job opportunities for them. This leads to developing the country’s education sector, which raise the quality of life for people. Additionally, this will contribute in reducing the global poverty. Reducing the number of people in need around the world is another factor that motivates governments to start with themselves. Working toward increasing their citizens’ income rather than putting this money in other countries can benefit the global financial aids. For instance, a 10% increase in employees’ salaries would significantly help in reducing local poverty, which in its turn reduces the number of poor people around the world. For these reasons, I believe the governments priority should be their individuals. In conclusion, many people in the world need the support to live, which is the governments’ responsibility. However, it is not easy to provide help for people in other countries. Therefore, I support the view that encourages governments to utilize their resources to fulfill the requirements of their individuals, as this can lead not only to local improvement but also to reduce global poverty.