Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is suggested that the punishment for committing major offences should be the same for both adults and young individuals. This essay completely disagrees with this viewpoint because minors might not know that their actions are wrong and imprisoning them can have a detrimental impact on their development. When it comes to serious charges, teenagers might be too young to recognise offences. Often, young people have little knowledge about the laws, which even some adults might fail to follow. Therefore, they could accidentally commit crimes without any bad intentions. For example, a teenager might injure their peers during a roleplay, thinking that they are fighting the bad guys. Furthermore, minors are inexperienced so their perception of right and wrong may differ from that of adults. For grown-ups, touching sensitive areas is regarded as sexual assault but minors might consider it to be of no issue. Without accounting for the young one’s unawareness of conventional norms, sentencing them to several years in prison or fining them a large sum of money is obviously unreasonable. Beyond the unsuitability of charging young ones the same as adults, it may also adversely affect their development. Young people have a high nutrient and education demand, which prisons with their poor-quality meals and environment fail to satisfy. Minors might also imitate the behaviors of other prisoners, which directly alters their perception. After minors finish serving their sentence, they can also be put at risk of criticism coming from the public, their classmates, or even their families. While I concede that offenders must receive some kind of punishment, severe sentences can be counterproductive. Therefore, separated laws designed for minors must be developed to ensure that justice is carried out reasonably and limit the potential backlash. In conclusion, imposing the same level of punishment regardless of ages can prove to be unsuitable as it fails to acknowledge the naiveness of teenagers and potentially affects their healthy development.