Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might be the reason for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent times, some students choose to travel or work for a year before going to university, while others choose to continue their studies as soon as they graduate high school. This essay will provide both the advantages and disadvantages of this idea, and give my own opinion. One benefit is that they learn things that are not taught in the classroom. By traveling or working, they learn how to build their confidence, how to communicate with different people from various background (age, gender, culture). For example, before making a decision about the next step of my studies, as I dont know what to do next, consequently I took a gap year. During that period I have the opportunity to be a teacher for a 4 years old, from there I found my passion again for learning. Therefore, by having an experience outside of classroom, I can develop myself and my skills before taking the next step of my studies. However, there is also drawbacks. Taking a long gap year lead to lose movtivations in students and becoming used to earning money, which can make it harder for students to return to school later on. For example, someone who several years working may find it difficult to focus on lectures, make assignments, meet deadline again. Additionally, they might find several responsibilities by having a full-time job or starting a family, which can make their studies more difficult. In conclusion, while there are clear advantages of students choosing taking a time off from studies, to travel and work, the advantages should not be ignored. I believe, having a deadline or timeline for your gap year would be beneficial, as students can still explore outside our their studies but they still have the motivation to return again.