To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that insects should be made a part of our diet as a result of increasing population, while some belive that there will be negative effects, not only to humans but also to our environment. This essay will look at the benefits and drawbacks of broadening our diet. As the number of humans globally are increasing at tremendous pace, our food supply is getting shorter and shorter everyday. The present rate of food production is unable to meet with the requirements of the world population. For this reason, eating insects has become a nessesity because it is one of the only few things that we can intergrate into our dietary habits. Also, throughout the course of humanity, there are various various examples of people who have used insects as a source of food at times for sustainablity. Moreover, some edible insects have alot of health bennifits such as improving digestive system, decreasing colestrol and deceasing the risk of diabetes. According to a research, people who also eat insects, tend to live a longer life than those who don't. However, there are many underlying factors relating to health and society to account for before consuming insects in masses. A major threat due to consumption these little creatures is the health problems it might bring. As humans are not familiar with diets including insects, a lot of people will face digestive problems, while also facing the risk of getting deadly viruses,diseases and bacteria from them. On the other hand, due to the increasing demand for these creatures, it will also have a negative affect on their habitat. For example, the number of bees are decreasing at an alarming rate due to mass deforestration. In Conclusion, it is nessesary to counter the increasing food demand of the growing world. However, it should not come at the cost of human well-being and mass destruction of natural habitats.