In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

It has become increasingly commonplace for professional athletes to use prohibited substances in competitions to enhance their performance. It is mainly because of the increased competitiveness and reluctance to train. Many solutions, such as using high-tech detectors and setting more regulations, can be implemented. I contend that the biggest reason for this phenomenon is the explosion of competitiveness worldwide. With the increase in health awareness and the availability of sports facilities, more people are beginning to participate in sports activities. In order to be superior among a larger number of competitors, many of them choose to use banned medicines. Furthermore, many athletes tend to search for easier approaches when they can not endure the harsh and lasting training. As a result, quicker and more effective measures like injecting adrenaline before competition are taken sometimes. There are numerous solutions to this phenomenon, such as making use of cutting-edge technologies. Specifically, advances in technology has enabled the detection of certain chemicals in the human body, even if there is only a small amount. Through utilizing these sophisticated machines, illegal behaviors can be discovered timely. Another solution for this is to set stricter and clearer punishments. Many professional sports, such as the provincial competitions in my country, only fine the athletes who used forbidden medicines, which is not effective at all. To illustrate, if regulations that depriving the participating right of these athletes for years are taken, most of them would not take such risks. In conclusion, the growth of competitiveness and the pursuit of shortcuts are the reasons why more athletes are using banned medicines. The problem can be mitigated through utilizing detectors equipped with high technologies and setting more appropriate regulations.