Many teenagers these days spend time on social media. What are the causes.

The United Kingdom's central office shows that over 42% of teenagers are addicted to social media. Nowadays, social media is becoming something so crucial in our lives. However, social media may cause several dangerous, unnoticed things, especially for teenagers, such as, affecting health, academic performance. One possible effect on health caused due to using social media is poor eyesight. Straining at the screen for too long periods can affect teens’ eyes by damaging them through blue light, especially when using a phone in dark places, because the device's light will be focused on the user’s eyes. Another possible effect is increasing anxiety. Using social media can increase anxiety to high levels. Social media applications are designed to keep you engaged with reels, notifications,or messages, which keeps your brain in fight or flight. This situation of disorder, makes you always expect something urgent. In addition, spending a long time on the phone will reduce productivity due to tiredness and fatigue. Another problem caused by using social media is the academic performance. Spending a long time on social media significantly contributes to reducing academic achievement due to distractions, and a lack of focus. Teenagers will be distracted easily by social media, and they will prioritise staying online more than focusing on their studies. This is because they are influenced by the Influencers they follow. In summary, social media has a significant impact on teenagers’ health, causing eye strain and increasing anxiety. It also reduces academic performance by distracting students from their studies and encouraging them to prioritise social media engagement over learning.