Some people think that strick punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to the issue of road safety, people hold a variety of opinions. While some individuals believe that strict law should be made to decrease road accidents, others think the opposite view. I think the authority should take some proper steps to ensure the road safety for public. However, before reaching any conclusion, i will outline both views with relevant examples. To begin with, nowadays, road safety has become a common concern across all sectors of society. In every year, a lot of people die due to the road accidents; the drivers are often unaware about the traffic system. For example, i was witnessed an accident last year and it happended due to the neglegience of driver. He was not only watching reels on his device but also disobeying traffic rules. As a result, a poor people injured and lost his legs which was unbearable. In this case, a hard legislation should apply to minimise this unlawful act. On the other hand, some others say decreasing accidents, we should give priority on road safety; rather than application of law. They believe that if narrow roads repair, the number of accidents will reduce comparatively. Besides, some roads are often devastated by the natural calamity which should be constructed at first. In addition, public ought to be conscious about the maintenance of traffic signals. For instance, peolpe of Japan, are more aware about their signals when they drive. However, these measures have a great impact on road safety issue. To sum up, although legislation should be compiled to avoid devices during drive, other measures also have to taken for the safety on road. I personally believe that the Government should take proper steps as well as make law to avoid any harmful accidents on the road.