In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many parts of the world, obesity is one of the most common diseases suffered by children. This essay will examine the key causes of this problem, including overconsumption of fast-foods, and propose practical solutions such as implementing mindful eating and policy intervention by government to effectively tackle this issue. There are several underlying factors contributing to the prevalent of obesity in children. One significant cause is children often consume fast-foods in a daily basis. This is due to most well-known restaurants or food delivery apps offer delicious fast-foods, such as fried chicken and nugget, at an affordable price, which encourage children to buy the available foods. To address this challenge, one effective solution is the parents should teach their children how to be a mindful eater. When the children are well-informed about eating and its impact on bodies, they will more likely become more aware and selective in choosing their foods. Furthermore, government has a key role to tackle this problem. In this regard, government should introduce a policy to the fast- food restaurants to put information about ingredients on the food packages. For example, KFC, one of the biggest fried chicken restaurants based in the US, has displayed the sign label to inform the amount of calories intake and recommend people to not consume their products frequently. In conclusion, childhood obesity is a complex issue stemming from huge consumption on fast food, but it can be effectively tackled through raising awareness of healthy food consumption and implementing strict regulation to the fast- food stores.