Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is claimed that to increase recycling process, it should be given a legal status. I strongly disagree with the claim because this aim can be achieved through social awareness programs and by giving reliefs. First and foremost, with the initiative of social awareness campaigning, the desired goal can be achieved. However, with the help of awareness programs and also it will make them understand about their moral and social responsibility. Moreover, the individuals will be encouraged when they see others performing their duty. For instance, countries like Germany and Sweden have started organizing such types of programs, which will lead to a clean and healthy atmosphere. These examples show that without making it a legal obligation, the desired target can be achieved. secondly, recycling process can be increased by giving them incentives. This means that they must be given some percentage of discount on their electricity bills and also give them health related benefits, such as common illness treatment. In this way, they will start to recycle more and more to gain such benefits. For instance, Germany and South Korea, give financial benefits to their public to encourage recycling process. However, from these arguments it can be understood that reuse of waste management can be enhanced without categorizing it as a legal requirement. In conclusion, without making it a legitimate requirement, the desired goal of increasing the recycling process can be achieved with the help of social awareness programs and also by benefitting the public. Therefore, I believe that the government must not make it a legal requirement.