Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give yor own opinion.

It is believed by some individuals that sports have a significant role in society. In contrary, other people think that it is not mmore than just an activity for leisure. I believe that sports is important in our community. Initially, playing sports such as basketball, swimming, volleyball, boxing, and many more was considered a past time for some. However, due to our natural competitive behaviour, it became an eventful activity. Communities started to train individuals with potential to compete in local and international competions. Just like in Korea and America, athletes are now receiving increased support from the government. They are also acknowledged for the pride they bring to their respective countries and often receives plaque of appreciation for their contributions. On the other hand, some people perceived sports as a play-thing only. These individuals think that there are more important matters that citizens should focus such as education and office jobs. An example of this would be, school achievers that prospers in their academic excellence. These type of people often puts emphasis on the relevance of sports on the actual work. In conclusion, sports can either be a job description or a leisure activity, it really depends on how an individual perceives it. I believe that appreciating and acknowledging the engagements we have through sports is really important and plays a vital role in our society.