Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that family holds an important factor to introduce children on how to act in the society, while some think that school plays a more important role. In my opinion, good parenting presents the most significant factor since parents are the firsthand educator of a child. Parents plays a critical factor in raising a child as they are the ones who witness how the children grow up firsthand. It becomes critical because in the early years children are known to be a quick learners who easily imitate particular behaviour and traits coming from their parents. For instance, married couples who have a bad temper and often use inappropriate words tend to teach such a thing to their offspring. As the time goes by, children are raised to be arrogant individuals. On the other hand, school also introduces social skills in a real-life setting. This way, students can learn how to bring themselves out there by interacting with their friends who come from various backgrounds. Though teachers often enforce moral lessons on their students, there are some cases when adolescents often turn out to be more rebellious and influence their peers to do the same. For instance, even though school may have set a strict rule about smoking, male students are often pressured to smoke so as to be accepted as a member of a particular clique. To conclude, while teachers have started to discipline students in class, family is the most effective source to teach how to be a good member of a society.