In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Recently, more students tend to complete a university degree abroad rather than enrolling in domestic universities. While studying abroad offers many advantages, it also has drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both positive and negative aspects of studying in a foreign country. First of all, one of the most compelling aspects of receiving an international education is that it promotes holistic personal and academic development. In fact, when learners engage in activities such as public speaking, group projects, or even purchasing household essentials, they improve not only their intellectual capacity but also their communication, leadership, and self-reliance. Although academic excellence helps students achieve high grades, it is not sufficient to cope with real-life situations. For instance, students who participate in academic debates in front of foreign people tend to be more confident in expressing their ideas. Moreover, qualifications gained abroad can open the door to better job opportunities. In contrast, living alone in an unfamiliar culture can cause homesickness. In other words, a lack of a supportive surrounding environment can adversely influence learning outcomes. A recent study published by Oxford University concluded that 60% of students who live solely abroad are more likely to get lower scores. Furthermore, independence can increase pressure and hinder academic progress. In conclusion, while studying overseas has some challenges, I ultimately believe that its pros outweigh the cons.