Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smart phone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Advanced technology and smart gadgets are widely used by many people in their leisure time, this is because of the addiction to social websites to communicate and shop. I believe this is a negative development because it affects eyesight and growth retardation of a human being. To begin, people are spending most of their hour on their mobile phones because addiction to social media and online shopping. A facility of easily available applications for feasible communication and interaction, people unconsciously spend hours in front of a phone screen. For instance, mobile applications such as, WhatsApp and Instagram have become a necessity to be connected around the globe. Therefore, people spend most of their time on it. Moreover, nowadays people prefer online shopping via mobile phone rather than a physical one. For the selection of clothes, fashion trends, and huge discounts on such shopping applications attract people to use more without time limits. This trend negatively impact human life because long exposure to the phone screen causes eye damage. For instance, according to the WHO, sitting in front of mobile phones for long hours causes damage to retina in the eyes, which leads to permanent eyesight defects. In addition, the high use of smart gadgets wastes precious hour of an individual. This means, if youngsters spend most of their time on phones rather than studying and developing a career, indeed they lose most productive moment to be successful in life. Thus, spending leisure time using smartphones causes growth retaredation and health crisis, which adversly affcet an individual's life. In conclusion, highly usage of such websites for e-shopping and connectivity, people spend most of their free time on smartphones, I think this negatively impact people's health and career development.