Some people believe that the internet has brought more harm than good. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Internet has a great influence on the lives of people all around the world.The extreme use of internet by all the age groups raises a debate leading to argument by some people that the internet possess more detrimental impact for the users than the benefits. I strongly agree with the presented notion. This essay will demonstrate both the advantages and disadvantages of internet, concluding with my opinion. One of the factors supporting the view is the increased cyber crime on various social media platforms. For instance, a number of social media influencers have victimised the hacking of their accounts and personal information, consequently, leading to stress and bullying by the hackers. Nowadays, almost every second household depends on social media to earn money by posting videos and sharing their personal lives. This overutilisation of internet and online apps by individuals has raised the chances of crime and hacking which further deteriorates the lives and well-being of the victims. Additionally, internet has created distance in the close relationships of people. In other words, every internet user is always found busy on their phones while sitting with the friends and family. They give more time to their digital life than in person relationships. This has created a lack of trust and bonding among relatives and colleagues. On the other hand, the positive change that technology and internet have brought to the lives of people cannot be neglected. Internet has made lives easy by offering number of platforms, websites and data that answers every question. For instance, people can book appointments with the doctors anytime with their phones, moreover, there are telehealth options available to improve convenience for the people seeking assistance. Furthermore, childrens benefit a lot from the internet and online learning. There are plethora of academic material available on youtube, websites and apps which children can access anytime to assist with their studies to improve their academic performance. Therefore, there are several benefits that internet provides to make lives better and easier. To conclude, though there are huge opportunities and services available to the users of internet but according to me, the higher risk of engaging in crimes and deterioration of personal relationships cannot be overlooked and the internet should be used in moderation.