water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

The shortage of water sources is one of the major issues all around the world. This essay will look at possible reasons for this problem and suggest solutions to counter this issue. One primary cause of water scarcity is global warming and the production of greenhouse gases, which this phenomena leads to a significant rise in the Earth's temperature. As a result, some lakes and a large amount of underground water are in danger of drought. According to, study conducted at Toronto University, the water level of Bengo Lake has fallen by about 45 per cent over the last decade. Moreover, another key reason for this problem is the construction of dams, particularly in unsuitable sites. The fact is that, dams are the simplest and cheapest way for producing energy; however, they have detrimental effects on the ecosystem, especially the hydrological water chain of the planet. To address this, the governments have to impose strict policies to reduce the speed of global warming or even reverse that. For example, developing renewable energy and allocating significant subsidies to industrial activities, which are the principal contributors to global warming. In my opinion, if these strict regulations are implemented around the world, the positive results will be gained easily and effectively. In addition, individuals should be aware of order to reduce the wasting of water and control their consumption. For instance, using recycled water for gardening or cleaning is a simple yet effective way which helps to tackle the issue. In conclusion, although the lack of water is a growing concern, it might be solved or even the shift reversed if immediate action is taken. In this regard, implementing strict policies by the government and increasing the awareness of people are the best solutions.