In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

In line with the increasing number of sports enthusiasts around the world, there has been a rise in irresponsible habits by several individuals such as using doping to get instant results. This essay will examine the impact of performance-enhancing drugs on an individual's health and offer an action plan to overcome this issue. Despite its powerful advantages, especially in muscle gaining, overconsuming doping may bring several downsides to people’s physical strength and mental health in the long term. In terms of health, it might lead to several chronic diseases such as heart attack, and liver disease, also long-term consumption of this substance might impact infertility. Meanwhile, for emotional aspects, the drugs can trigger anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorder. For example, several influencers gained significant muscle after doping tended to have hepatitis several years later due to this substance. To tackle this behaviour, the sale of performance-enhancing drugs should be restricted in the market and allowed only for athletes under medical supervision. Indeed, the government is encouraged to ban doping in several drugstores and provide punishment to some people or stores who trade freely. For example, performance-enhancing drugs are only allowed to be sold to doctors who are responsible as athlete’s coaches at the same time. In conclusion, irresponsible doping consumption leads to several dangerous diseases and unstable emotional conditions. Therefore, strong regulation and punishment are needed to be ruled by the government to prevent free trading. The combination of strong self-responsible and strong policy might reduce the use of this substance in the near to medium term.