In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

One of the social concerns today relates to criminals. In many nations worldwide, the average rates of children and teenagers committing crimes have gradually increased. In this essay, I am going to demonstrate some causes of this phenomenon as well as propose some solutions that can be taken into consideration to minimize the impacts of this growing trend. The reasons behind the increasing mental trauma among children, and how this contributes to a rise in juvenile crime, can be questionable. Firstly, one of the key factors leading to the increasing rate of juvenile crime nowadays is psychological distress, meaning that some young criminals suffered through mental trauma as they were raised in dysfunctional households, where there is violence, neglect, and a lack of proper moral guidance. Consequently, mental distress may impair individuals’ ability to manage their emotions, making them more prone to anger and, in extreme cases, even violent acts such as murder. Secondly, despite the belief held by many people that uneducated, abandoned children are mostly involved in juvenile crimes, I do believe that there are more factors that can be associated with this issue. Albeit being well-educated, some children still commit crimes due to peer pressure. This means that they are negatively influenced by friends or social groups that engage in illegal behavior, in order to gain parental acceptance or to prove themselves. Lastly, personal excitement can play a crucial role in causing juvenile crimes. For instance, some children use their intelligence and education to commit more calculated crimes, as they might engage in cybercrimes, fraud, or manipulation— offenses that require a certain level of knowledge. Despite the rise of the problem, there are some measures that can be implemented to mitigate the impacts. Firstly, governments should implement strict policies to punish young criminals as a role model for others. Secondly, I do believe that strict parental supervision would not be an effective solution. For example, psychologically distressed offspring need emotional support to help them overcome their hardship. In this case, they should not be strictly supervised. Eventually, it is evident that not only should policies targeting young criminals be implemented, but the government should also ban toxic and aggressive acts on social platforms to reduce cybercrimes as well as cyberbullying. In conclusion, although there are numerous causes of this alarming phenomenon—juvenile crimes —eventually, it can come down to a lack of moral guidance and social influence. Nevertheless, there are some solutions that can be taken to address the problems.