some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Nowadays, with the development of digital technology, there are various environmental issues that appear, such as air pollution. To protect the environment, some people support reducing the frequency of flying to address environmental problems, while others argue that this action will bring more disadvantages for individuals and businesses. I agree with the latter view. On the one hand, it is undeniable that decreasing the number of times that people fly annually can improve the environment, especially reducing the pollutant emissions from aeroplanes. For example, plenty of pollutants contribute to global warming when planes fly in the sky. Moreover, more tourists and business people bring a large amount of waste when they visit scenic spots or business buildings, which is undoubtedly negative for the local environment. If the frequency of flying can be cut down, the above issues can be controlled and mitigated effectively. On the other hand, there are a variety of disadvantages for individuals and businesses if people reduce the frequency of flying by air or even stop flying altogether. Firstly, from a personal aspect, it is not optimistic for academic and cultural exchange. For example, every year, a huge number of overseas students take aeroplanes to a dream university, which is located in different countries. The aeroplane is the only transportation tool that can be used. If the frequency of flying is reduced, which means that these students have to give up their dreams and lose lots of opportunities for study and their future career. Secondly, from a business perspective, the aerospace industry boosts the development of trade. Various merchants take aeroplanes to visit their vendors and industries that are located in other countries. They negotiate and build trust by face-to-face communication, which makes their cooperation fast and effective. Hence, reducing the use of planes, to some extent, is not beneficial for the economic growth of the countries involved. In summary, reducing flying can help the environment, however, whether from a personal or business perspective, the decrease in flying frequency brings more negative impacts, which outweigh the benefits for the environment.