Some people believe that the government should invest more in the arts to enhance cultural development. Others argue that government funding should be spent on more essential areas such as healthcare and education. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many people think it is better if the government invests in the arts to promote cultural development, while others think/believe that such spending must be made in more essential areas like education and healthcare. In my opinion, I agree with the latter statement. This essay will discuss the following topic as follows. First and foremost, expenditure on learning or health services is important as it is the basis to nourish a country. While education fosters knowledge and teaches students life skills so they can join the workforce and replenish the old generations, healthcare treats and cures life-threatening diseases for many people. Although the arts help promote cultural development, it is not as necessary as the basic needs that many people still cannot have. Therefore, we should focus on giving money to such things first. Secondly, on the other hand, investing in the arts can help build cultural understanding and appreciation of our country, allowing people to connect and share ideas. Arts help to set up a friendly, open surrounding where many people can participate and give many inspirations to unfortunate individuals. This helps to solve racism and isolation in the community as well as increasing the living standard in the area. Moreover, it can also create jobs in tourism and boost local businesses. With the arts, many people will respect the scenery and be willing to clean up polluted areas that can sustain tourism industries.With this, local traditions are preserved and the country’s significance is also being recognised by foreigners, which brings up the economy. In addition, this can boost creativity, which is essential in careers. More people will think outside the box and develop many radical concepts that prove to be useful and increase productivity. In conclusion, although providing budget for the arts can reap insurmountable benefits, it is not as significant as the fundamental needs, such as education and health service, that serve purposeful roles and form the basis of society.