Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically beneficial. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, many foods are shipped from far away and some think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically beneficial. In my opinion, I partly agree. On the one hand, buying food from far distances can cause many drawbacks to the environment. In order to transfer those groceries, we need a large amount of material and this will produce a large amount of waste and the atmosphere will be polluted. For example, to send or receive various food products, it is necessary to transport them by air, water, or road, which releases greenhouse gases and causes air pollution. Those transfer methods require a large amount of money because import goods are often more expensive compared to domestic goods because the government applies more tax to recover the transfer cost. On the other hand, doing this can also have advantages. Immigrants can have all of the ingredients, which are extremely important to them. Nowadays, a high rate of population immigrates from one country to another and they truly want to have all of the food products they use in their country and they will be very happy when they have them. Besides, the citizens in other states have many choices. For instance, in Canada, the customers have a lot of choices to choose from and try many different products because this country is importing goods from other countries, so the citizens have a fulfilling feeling. In conclusion, above is my opinion about the statement that many foods are shipped from far away and some think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically beneficial. In my opinion, I partly agree.