Some people believe that planing for the future is a waste of time because they think that focusing on the present is more important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that, it is unnecessary to think about a vague future that has not come yet. In my perspective, future is worth thinking about. On the one hand, ones who have a plan are more likely to become successful. One reason can be they are more motivated. In fact, having a dream is in close connection with the amount of motivation people attain. For instance, according to a study conducted by Harvard University, 80% of well-achieved self-motivated students had devised a plan for their future. Furthermore, the ones who have a plan are able to choose the suitable path for them. This means having a plan helps them to refrain from the mistakes ordinary people make. This is because they are determined and do not give in to what is considered temptation for other people. On the other hand, focusing on present turns human into a lazy pleasure-seeker, as people naturally tend to live life to the full, but, it should also be noted that sometimes seizing today’s joy can lead to tomorrow’s sorrow. To make it clear, if a person concentrates on present, he/she is likely to keep themselves busy with entertaining themselves, without considering the consequences it might bring about. This may result in having an unaccomplished life. In addition, thinking ahead makes effort valuable. If you have a goal, you have something to try for. This makes it easier to tolerate hardship. In conclusion, I would restate that, having a bright future requires planning for it in advance.