All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills, but others think having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, the competition to get a better paying job is increasing day by day. Thus, in order to secure the children's future, some parents believe they should be taught some valuable skills in the early age, whereas others think that more subjects should be introduced to expand the child's horizon. This essay intends to elaborate both the aspects prior to reaching on my opining, in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the important skills like cooking, plumbing, sewing, etc. should be a part of study curriculum due to various reasons such as, if the person is unable to get a job in the certain field then he or she can use these skills in order to earn their living. Moreover, these skills can assist individuals if they are living away from family, and cannot afford fancy meals everyday. For example, I learned cooking while completing my high school, and when I came to Canada I was able to work part-time in the restaurant because of my culinary skills. On the other hand, the introduction of range of subjects in the school will give the young minds a better scope to decide what they want to presue in future. Furthermore, the concept of financial management in studies will help students to understand the broad concept of investment, stock marketing, and saving etc. which will further help the children to grow financially. Additionally, given that the kids can select from the variety of subjects will save their time because then they don't have to focus on language subjects if they want to become a scientist in future. To conclude, it can be inferred from the above analysis that although there are abundant of pros of learning new skills, significance of different subjects cannot be overlooked. Ultimately, schools should make a certain curriculum in which students can select which skills and subjects they want to learn.