In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend among businessmen to promote their products as unique. While there might be various reasons for this practice, this essay will discuss a few while pointing out why this might be rather harmful and deceitful. Firstly, companies that are highly ambitious tend to market their product in this way so that they can grab the customers' attention. As consumers in this day and age have many options to choose from, they are more likely to pick the one that has some uniqueness in it. As a result, the businesses are forced to market their goods as if they were something that had never been seen before. For instance, if a salesman wants to sell his product that is already in the market, he will have to make up some qualities that might make the product seem new. However, although most businesses come up with great merchandise, it might not be unique, which forces the sellers to deceive the buyers. Consequently, buyers often get tricked into purchasing something they did not intend to. This practice leads to fraudulent activities, which are greatly harmful to the whole society. Additionally, entrepreneurs are now being restricted because if they do not come up with a product that is new in some way, then their product will not be successful. Conversely, there is a growing trend of generating new ideas because consumers want new and advanced products. Thus, as the creators are diligently trying to make unique items, new merchandise is entering the market. Even though this might be beneficial, it creates pressure for businesses with products that are nicely developed but not unique. To conclude, it is my firm belief that even though this new practice has some merits, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Products should be marketed as they are, and merchants should find a way to attract customers without using fraudulent tactics.