Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views on whether children should be supported to become competitive or cooperative in order to become a responsible adult. I believe that encouraging cooperation among others is more beneficial because it stimulates emotional intelligence, which is very essential in the process of becoming a useful adult. On the one hand, many believe that being competitive is the better option for the issue in question because children growing up with a sense of competition will likely have a strong mentality. For example, most of the athletes have been directed by their parents to join sports clubs and have been trained since an early age to prepare not only the required skills for the sports but also to strengthen their mindset. These committed years of training have turned them into unbreakable athletes and even dedicated many medals for the nation. However, I disagree with this view because long-term competitive exposure from an early age will likely harm their mentality due to the pressure and high expectations to become a winner. For instance, the first ranked male badminton player in the world once reported getting mad and crushing his racket when he got defeated this year. His aggressive acts which hinder the healthy competitive values showed that his mentality was not strong enough to regulate his behaviour toward the match result he got. On the other hand, raising children with cooperative values will shape themselves with a very good emotional intelligence since they stimulate children ’s cognitive development. For instance, encouraging students to cooperate in finishing the school projects will not only teach them the school materials but also train them to tolerate and respect their peers in the process of finishing the project. As well as when joining a competition, children with a cooperative mindset will have good emotional condition because they will value the process more than the result, therefore they tend to accept the outcome and learn from the experiences. By the time they grow up, they will become an assertive person and ready to contribute to the society in a mannered way. In conclusion, although a highly competitive young person may shape them to have a fighting mentality, I think it is better for the children to be raised with co-operate values, which can increase their emotional intelligence to later become a wiser adult.