The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology, which can prevent and solve crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the decline in crime rates in recent years is largely due to advancements of technology that help both prevent and solve criminal activities. I agree with this view, as technological innovations have significantly enhanced capabilities of law enforcement and deterrent to potential offenders. Although the latest tech innovations somewhat expensive, their impact are totally worth of its investments. With the widespread use of Closed-circuit television (CCTV) and other survilence technology in commercial buildings, public places and even residential areas, psychological detrrent and fear to get cought discourages criminals to crimes. For instance, In London and Singapore there is a noticeable decline in crime rates, especially in vandalism and streets fights, due to the presence of high resolution surviellence in the public areas. Moreover, the advanced technology has empowered the police with cutting edge tools, such as forensic database, predictive softwares and developed cybersecurity measures. These developments not only effectively solve a crime that has been commited but also cold cases that were not resolved because of the lack of advanced resources. For example, in recent years many offenders have been cought by police with the help of DNA testing, who have committed several serious crimes but always escape due to lack of proper evidence. Although technology has also led to several new cyber crimes, the other benefits such as, fostering in solving criminal activities and preventing them cannot be ignored. In conclusion, while with the help of advanced technology cyber crimes are also rising, the improved forensics, predictive softerwares and new measures in cybersecurity cannot be underestimated. In my opinion, technology has made safer place than we had before.