Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about the benefits of single-sex and mixed schools. While some people assert that single-gender schools are much more successful in academic performance, many others argue that mixed schools launch children on path of more practical competences in the future. I personally am in favor of the latter view and, despite discussing both sides, will explain the reasons for my choice. On one hand, some individuals believe that single-sex schools provide students with the opportunity to more academic achievements based on two main reasons. Firstly, they are inevitably more concentrated on their curriculum due to no significant gender-based distractions in their classes. That is, co-existence of both genders may lead to some unnecessary obsessions in students, such as paying too much attention to their appearance or being exaggeratedly self-conscious which consequently causes social anxiety and awkward academic performance in them. Secondly, single-sex educational system allows tutors to adjust their teaching methods to meet their students ’ specific needs which are affected by their sex. For instance, boys are more easily distracted and additionally more into practical methods of learning in contrast to girls which makes it challenging to teach both genders simultaneously. On the other hand, some people think that co-ed educational system prepares the youth for better social life in the future. Students will have the chance to get familiar with the opposite gender and their considerable differences in either their attitude to life or their behavior if they participate in mixed schools. Additionally, coeducational schools make students encounter some challenges such as lecturing in front of the opposite sex and dealing with the peer pressure which makes them much more self-confident and ready for tackling problems of their future marital and professional lives. In other words, children will learn how to collaborate with opposite gender to fulfil their same goals despite all the differences and conflicts they may have; that is the reason why I believe it is so beneficial for children to take part in mixed schools to be both assertive and socially-skilled. To conclude, although single-gender schools can be advantageous to some extent, I believe that co-ed schools will not only raise more self-confident and well-rounded students but also some flexible adults with more social skills in both their personal and professional lives.