Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to apply stricter punishments. Others, however, argue that there are more effective ways to reduce crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It's argued that the key to preventing crimes is to give longer prison sentences, while others think that there are different ways to alleviate the crime proportion. In my opinion, while dangerous criminals should be kept behind bars, we should initiate awareness campaigns to address the root of the issue. On the one hand, supporters of longer prison sentences believe that strict punishment acts as a strong way to prevent crimes. If criminals know that they will face severe consequences, they will think twice before committing a crime. Furthermore, keeping offenders in prison for longer periods will make the city safe, and citizens will live in peace and relaxation. For instance, serious criminals, such as repeat offenders, can no longer harm society if they are kept behind bars for an extended time. Therefore, longer sentences are seen by some as a way to protect the public and reduce the risk of offenders. On the other hand, many folks argue that longer sentences will not address the root causes of crimes; they believe that investment in education, job training,and rehabilitation programs can be more effective and change criminal behaviour. For instance, if young people from disadvantaged backgrounds are given better education and job opportunities, they are less likely to turn to crime. To exemplify, countries like Norway have adopted this approach and have some of the lowest crime rates in the world. In conclusion, while many believe strong punishment will solve this problem, I think a better way to spread awareness through educational programs would be a principal solution to deal with this trouble.