Getting promotions is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in the modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotions? What other factors influence people to work hard? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the icreasing in cost of living in recent times. One siginficant aspect why employees work hard in their jobs is for them to earn promotions. Although there are other ways to encourage staff to do their best and rise the productivity of the business. First and foremost, the main reason most employees are pursuing promotions is to earn a high raise in salaries, and as life become costly and unaffordable this promotion is the ultimate solution for this dilemma. For instance: high salary will make the quality of families life better as they will afford the household essentials, and one of the parents can stay at home to take care of the children. As a result, kids will not feel the absence of their parents and they will live a decent life. Secondly, although giving promotions for employees it the common way to award the staff, it could affect the financial status of the institustions. Therefore, they may offer to reduce working hours or the posibility to work remotely for a week of each month as a stimulant. For example: since I used to work for a very long hours, I did not had time to do other activities or meet my friends, I totally devoted my life for work which made me resign from my job even though I admired it and was an important member of my team. Albeit if working time rule could be applied, this will result in assuring to have the loyalty of a fulfilled employee and maintain the productivity of the work. By way of conclusion, companies nowadays are competing and everyone offering to promote their staff as a way of recognition, but they should consider other solutions that may affect their prominents members' quality of life.