Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

In poor countries many people die from different illnesses, since they can not afford the required medication. While lowering the cost of medications might be less beneficial for drug companies, I strongly believe that the price for medicines and health care services must be reduced, to make it accessible and not too pricey for every people. On one hand, medications require a lot of time, effort, and funding to be created and released. It takes years, and even decades, in order to develop different medicines for different diseases. In addition, it also takes time and money to make a packaging for the medication and deliver it to different pharmacies all over the world. Generally, drug companies are businesses, which earn money through selling those medicines. Medications are already sold at affordable prices, to make them available for everyone, however some of them are expensive, due to the long-term effect, quality, or other various reasons. Therefore, it is not advantageous for companies to lower prices for drugs. On the other hand, health care is a service that must be available for every people. Even though it is not a cheap procedure, government must invest in health care and drug companies, to make them accessible for everyone. Funding services, regarding people's health, must be prioritized by government, therefore companies should reduce prices for their medications. In conclusion, while lowering the prices of the medications is not beneficial for drug companies, I believe that they should be reduced, and the companies must be funded by government, to make medicines and health care services available for everyone.