With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s fast-paced world, the increasing reliance on crude oil and natural gas has become a major concern due to the depletion of these resources. From my perspective, I believe human intervention in natural processes, like extracting crude oil, has more downsides compared to positives. Accordingly, resources should be locked or sealed so that people can adapt new energy sources as described below. In fact, these oils and gases take millions of years to be generated, through the decomposition of organic compounds. People are utilising these resources rapidly for the operation of vehicles and industries. When it comes to disadvantages of continuous extraction of resources, particularly burning these oils, they emit greenhouse gases, such as carbon dioxide. This process eventually disturbs the air quality and balance between gases in the atmosphere. Furthermore, currently global warming is a critical problem faced by the world because of the excessive percentage of greenhouse gases. In fact, man's interaction with natural processes globally has already given serious threats. Therefore, any geologist or environmental scientist does not recommend burning fossil fuels, as it directly interferes with natural cycles. Accordingly, in order to guarantee a sustainable future, it is advised to adopt green energy such as wind and solar power. Most countries today encourage the use of sustainable energy sources. Therefore, there should be regulatory bodies worldwide to minimise extraction of fossil fuels; otherwise, it will discourage others from adapting to change. In conclusion, it is clear that limitations should be placed on the use of natural resources. Reducing the use of these oils is crucial, even though outright banning them might not be simple. There should be agreements globally to make a safer environment for the next generation.