Some argue that economic progress and environmental sustainability are mutually exclusive. Discuss both viewpoints and express your opinion.

Proponents believe progression in the economic sector is closely linked to environmental sustainability, while opponents believe that the two are not mutually exclusive. In my opinion, I agree with the viewpoint proposed by the proponents. Preservation of the environment and its resources will lead to economic stability and progression, as this will allow more land to be utilised for agriculture. For instance, there are certain plants and crops that are best suited to growing in particular conditions, such as temperature and soil quality. Therefore, this allows the nation growing them to benefit by harvesting these plants, and subsequently exporting them to other countries, thereby helping the country generate valuable income. Thus, I believe that if this cycle of planting and harvesting plants continues, this would help boost the country's economy, while simultaneously preserving the environment. However, others argue that economic progress has no links to the environment. This opinion may stem from residents whose countries ' incomes do not depend on the environment. For example, in the UAE, a majority of the population are occupied in the real estate sector. In this nation, the GDP is mainly relied upon by this stream of revenue, as many high-profile businessmen from other countries build offices and buildings to expand their business. Therefore, this could be a reason why people believe that the sustainability of the environment has no association with economic progress. Yet, I do not believe this is eco-friendly, because constructing many buildings while simultaneously reducing the landmass of fertile regions could have detrimental effects on the planet in the future. In conclusion, many believe that progression in the economic sector is mutually linked to environmental sustainability, while proponents argue that this is not the case. This could be due to some countries relying heavily on their environment for their economic growth, whereas other nations may have alternative sources of generating income. However, I believe that economic growth is closely linked to the environment, as it allows certain nations to generate their income in a sustainable manner without causing harm to the environment or the planet.