It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, with the rise in demand for skills-oriented jobs, taking a year gap after the completion of high schooling has become a new vogue amongst teenagers. The benefits and drawbacks for the same will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with the advantages, taking a year out before going to university has myriad benefits including skill development and preparation of competitive exams. To elaborate this in detail, these days the year gaps are coming out as a great opportunity for students to learn new skills as well as enhancing existing ones. Additionally, some teenagers are opting out for a year break to prepare for various competitive exams such as entrance tests and government based exams. For example, in India, a massive number of students take a year gap to prepare for entrance tests of some prestigious universities like IITs and AIIMS. Moving on to the disadvantages, having a year break in career may sometimes incite loss of job opportunity. To expand this further, many mega-corporations segregate and exclude potential job aspirants in the interview round on the basis of their age and year off between the completion of their schooling and joining a university. Furthermore, year breaks can also lead to economic losses if one does not perform as they intended to. For instance, the information technology department of meta has a policy of only hiring freshers below the age of 25, which seizes the opportunity from many job-seekers. To conclude, it is apparent from the above paragraphs that year gaps provide opportunity to students to focus on skills building and competitive exams, however this may sometimes result in opportunity and economic losses.