The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, some claim science should prioritize enhancing living standards over everything else. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea because there are other pressing g oals that scientific research should never overlook. To begin with, scientific research is often driven to live an improved lifestyle. Specifically, many significant technological innovations such as automobiles, fertilizers and vacinnes are achieved for a more desirable life such as efficient transportation, food security and disease prevention. These scientific progress can be justified because they greatly elevate people’s living standards. Nevertheless, although it is understandable that science often aims to lead a more comfortable and cozy life, we should also address environmental sustainabiltiy to ensure long-term properity. Actually modern science tends to have a dual focus on achieving convenience and investing in sustainabiltiy. For example, more funds are put into researches on renewable and clean energy such as wind, nuclear and solar power, which can be interpreted as scientists’ attempt to combat environmental issues such as carbon footprint from fossil fuel, litter left by careless citizens and toxic pollutants from factories. Furthermore, bad consequnces could happen if science only focus on improvement in people’s lives. Without proactive measures, environmetal problems will eventually undermine people’s mental and physical well-being. For example, people might suffer from lung disease if the city they live in are full of air pollution. Therefore, scientific research should be encouraged to take sustainable growth into consideration. To conclude, it is short-sighted to exchange sustainable growth for immediate comfort lifestyles. I firmly believe that scientific research should adopt a dual aim, which includes both enhancement in people’s standards of living and growth sustainability.